top of page
  • Writer's pictureMolly McTernan

To The One Caught Up In The Passing Of Time: Hold On


Photo credit to Jo Anaya on Unsplash

 

Just a few weeks ago, the homeschool co-op that my family is part of started back up again. I’ve always enjoyed being there and assisting in classes, but just lately, I had to take a step back and soak in a realization.


As I walked past a mom with multiple kids, I was suddenly taken aback by the fact that the oldest one skipping along used to be as young as the baby that was being pushed in a stroller.


Time is passing so quickly.


For those of you who have read my poetry collection or have been following my blog for a while, you know that I have written quite a few pieces on time. The subject is one that I am fascinated with. However, when this happened, it almost left a bad taste in my mouth.


I used to be that small. And now here I am - a teenager halfway done with high school. How did the days pass so quickly?

With this all freshly on my mind, I recently sat down to do my literature course work for the day. I was writing an essay and one of the prompts stole my attention: 'If you had to time-travel to the past or the future, which year would you choose?'


Of course, my mind wandered to having tea with Emily Dickinson, or checking in on my family next month, but quite quickly, I had a sure answer: the year 2023, half a second ago.


Why?


Because God has placed me, and you, right here for a reason. Sometimes you'll feel alone in this world. Sometimes, your days will be hard. But I'm here to encourage you. His will is wonderful and perfect and our job is not to worry about passing time.


Our job is to hold on to Him.


 

Submissions to my poetry contest end tonight. If you still want to enter, you have until 9CST - informational post here.


47 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Youtube
  • Goodreads logo
  • Spotify
  • Pinterest

©2022-2024 by Molly McTernan

bottom of page