top of page
  • Writer's pictureMolly McTernan

16th Year Writing Recap


Photo credit to Guilherme Stecanella on Unsplash.


 

I used to see birthdays as the start of something new… and that always excited me. However, as I got older, I started to see them as not only the start of something new, but the end of something old. They are a special day to celebrate all that has happened to you so far and to hold your hands out to God in acceptance for what is to come. It’s scary and wonderful all at once.


Today, I will be sharing some writing highlights from the past year of my life. If you've been around on my blog for a while, you'll remember that I also did a similar recap for my last birthday. It was very humbling to look back at all that He had done for me and I loved writing the post, so I decided that I wanted to continue the series!


In my 16th year, I...


  • Signed multiple publishing contracts

  • Hit 100 newsletter subscribers

  • Applied to a writing conservatory

Signed my first publishing contract


I would never have dreamed that not only would I have signed my first publishing contract when I was 16, but that I'd be scrawling my name down multiple times in the same year - it is a really cool experience to write on those papers. I've started to get paid for my work and have it featured in more places and I am just so, so thankful that God has opened up the doors that He has for me (if you want to read my published pieces, you can find them all linked here).


Hit 100 newsletter subscribers


When my subscriber count inched up towards 100 a few months ago, I simply couldn't believe it. An email list is really fundamental for authors and is the best way to connect with them, so the fact that I've seen this much support means the world to me. Now, I'm almost to 150 and I continue to be blessed by my subscribers time and time again. I've loved sending out my monthly newsletters so much! If you are on my list already, thank you. And if you aren't or would like to share it with others and help me reach 150, you can do so here.


Applied to a writing conservatory


Currently, I'm in something called the Young Writer's Workshop (geared towards teens) and it has just been such an amazing experience for me! Soon after joining, I heard about their college alternative program that they have called the Author Conservatory. It focuses on writing craft and business skills and just seems like the overall perfect fit for me. I applied to the AC a few months ago and received an invitation to join, so now my parents and I are just trying to make our decision - it's hard, but I learning to hand Him my future.


This past year has been a whirlwind of ups and downs. I have learned so much, made so many friends, and have grown closer to God. However, I've also gone through really hard times, multiple rejections, and uncertainty about the path to take. But God a plan for me, He has a plan for you, and I'm just striving to keep my eyes on His face as I enter year 17.



73 views7 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Youtube
  • Goodreads logo
  • Spotify
  • Pinterest

©2022-2024 by Molly McTernan

bottom of page