top of page
  • Writer's pictureMolly McTernan

Working Past writer's block

Have you ever sat in front of your computer with frustration? Or stopped mid-sentence when writing in your journal? Your mind feels blank and you can't seem to find the correct words to continue. The easy flow of sentences seems to have ceased. If this is you, you are most likely suffering from a case of writer's block. Writer's block is extremely common but usually last for an annoyingly long time. Today, I will be sharing two methods that have always worked for me.


The timer Method


Set a timer

Your timer can be anywhere from 1-5 minutes depending on the intensity of your case

Begin to write

Read

Move past writer's block

After doing these four very easy steps, it should be noted that this method may need to be repeated twice, using the first run as a trial. I would like to mention that I am not the creator of this technique. The idea was given to me by Kirby Larson, I have just given my own take on how I use it.


Do something else


Yes, you read that right. Do something else. Don't write. Instead, step away from your note-book or laptop. You could read, do an art project, go on a walk, whatever it is that takes your mind from your work. I would like to make it known that most of my best story ideas come to me while I'm am on a morning walk. While giving your mind time to relax, it usually causes you to think in new and more efficient ways.




37 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 Comments


leah currier
leah currier
Oct 23, 2022

Writers block come against me hard sometimes too, but these are great ideas!

Like
Molly McTernan
Molly McTernan
Oct 25, 2022
Replying to

I'm sure you do!

Like
bottom of page