top of page
Writer's pictureMolly McTernan

Tips For Newbie Bloggers

Photo credit to Sincerely Media on Unsplash


 

Almost exactly two years ago, I decided to launch my blog - the very one that you are reading from today! I had no idea where the journey would take me, but now I'm still blogging, my writing is reaching dozens each month, and I'm loving every second of it!


I wrote and shared a post on running an email list, and it seemed to be met with a good response. Because of that and my upcoming anniversary, I decided to share a post on blogging. I hope that you find these tips helpful!


  • Decide on a topic/s before you start blogging


Having a plan in place before you actually launch your site is so vital because not only will it make your blog look more professional and appealing to readers, it will be easier for you to stay on track and talk about your platform. For example, I blog on faith, reading, and writing (so you can have multiple topics, just make sure they are cohesive), but that could definitely be different for you.


  • Have a plan and goal for marketing.


You don’t want your posts that you spent so much time on to just sit in your blog with no one reading them, so it’s very important to get the word out when you launch and to have some sort of email platform set up. This way, the people who want to support you can subscribe and keep up to date with new posts. It’s also really important to have goals for how many subscribers you want. For example, 50 by the end of the year etc.


  • Know what you can commit to.


Before you start blogging, you need to make sure that you know how much time you have on hand to devote to it. If you only have a little bit of time each month, committing to one post is probably a good idea. But if you have more time, you could do weekly or bi-weekly posts - whatever works for you. You want to make sure that you are putting out quality work for your readers!


  • Invest back into your subscribers.


If people are willing to give you their emails and time, it’s important that you give back to them as well. Ask questions in your posts and newsletters and reply to people’s comments; offer a lead magnet or maybe a giveaway to those who are signed up; write posts that you would like/would fit the audience that you are writing for and their problems. Also, praying over your blog and its subscribers is extremely important!


Companies that I use


  • Blogging webites: The two most used companies are Wix and Wordpress. Both had free versions and are widely like, but I personally use Wix. I find it easier to use and like the features better, however the price jump to paid is much higher for Wix.


  • Email platforms: The two most used companies for this are Mailerlite and Convertkit. Both of these also have free versions and allow up to 1,000 subscribers before you have to start paying. I personally use Mailerlite because it has a few more options than Convertkit, but the other allows you to use their business address if you don’t want your own public.

73 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All

6件のコメント


sara noelle
sara noelle
7月23日

Wonderful tips! 😊 Thanks for sharing. 😉

いいね!
Molly McTernan
Molly McTernan
7月23日
返信先

I'm so happy you think so! And thank you for reading and commenting.

いいね!

belegthebrave
7月21日

Thank you for this, Molly! This is very helpful to a new blogger like me. So grateful! :)

いいね!
Molly McTernan
Molly McTernan
7月23日
返信先

Ahh, you're so welcome! I'm glad you found this helpful.

いいね!

Bella Raine
Bella Raine
7月20日

Love this tips, Molly!! Super helpful! And congrats on the upcoming anniversary!! I love your blog and always enjoy reading your posts! 🥰

いいね!
Molly McTernan
Molly McTernan
7月20日
返信先

Thank you so much, Bella! I can’t believe it’s been almost two years already.

いいね!
bottom of page