top of page
Writer's pictureMolly McTernan

Staying In A Hobbit House



 

Back in July, my family stayed in a Hobbit themed AirBnB. We had an absolutely wonderful and restful time, and as tomorrow (September 22nd) is national Hobbit Day, I thought that posting about our trip and LOTR would be appropriate!


Firstly, I'll talk about our stay (there will be a video linked at the bottom as well!), and then I'll share a little bit about my favorite parts of Lord of the Rings.


About our stay:


My parents took my sisters and I on a road trip for one of my sister's birthdays, and surprised us with our AirBnB. Walking up to a Hobbit house and knowing that we'd be spending the next few days there was such an amazing feeling and there couldn't have been a better place for us. The house was full of little trinkets, a welcoming feel, and a cozy set up. Outside, there was acres of expanse, and so much wildlife. I must admit that I felt a bit like a hobbit while there.


One of my favorite memories was when I woke up early one morning and took a book out to the top of the hill and read while the area began to wake up. It was quiet and refreshing - like the rest of the trip. It's so nice to go somewhere new once and a while, especially when it's with people you love. And especially if your house is a hole in the ground.


About Lord of the Rings:


Now, if you weren't already aware by this point, I love The Lord of the Rings - both the books, movies, and author. The cast of characters is masterful balanced. The deep themes are constantly woven in. Truth shines through everywhere.


One of my favorite quotes from the series is one that the character Samwise Gamgee is famous for saying:


“There's some good in this world, Mr. Frodo, and it's worth fighting for.” - J. R. R. Tolkien

Though Tolkien himself seemed to say that he did not intentionally put allegory in his LOTR novels, I still tend to see them here and there. The visual of little people traveling through Middle Earth, helping each other, and battling evil along the way is such an encouraging and applicable visual.


Yes, the hobbit's world was falling apart. Yes, ours is now as well. But yes, there was still good in Middle Earth, there was still hope and still brave souls out there. And there is hope for us as well, there are people who want truth just as much as we do.


Even when life gets hard and dark, it's important to remember that there is something, Someone, worth fighting for.


 




61 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 Comments


Ava Hope
Ava Hope
Sep 26

That is so cool ahh!!! Thank you for sharing, Molly < 33

Like
Molly McTernan
Molly McTernan
Sep 27
Replying to

It was so amazing! And thank you for reading, Ava <3

Like

Melody Polar
Melody Polar
Sep 21

So cool!!!!

Like
Molly McTernan
Molly McTernan
Sep 22
Replying to

Thank you! It was amazing.

Like
bottom of page