top of page
  • Writer's pictureMolly McTernan

Guest post: Joanne Shin

Today's post is written by Joanne; a writer friend of mine that I met through YWW (the Young Writer's Workshop)! We are doing a blog/newsletter swap and she will be sharing my piece tomorrow. If you would like to sign up for her email list, you may do so here.


In her article, Joanne shares some faith-based encouragement and I hope that you enjoy reading it as much as I did!

 

One of my worst habits in life is that I usually keep everything inside, not showing my feelings to those around me. I don’t tell other people my worries and spend my time talking through the worries of those around me.


This usually leads to my friends and family not knowing what I’m going through, which means they can’t help me. The worst part of this habit for me is that I don’t talk to God about my worries.


Yes, I pray, but there’s something in me that makes me feel that I can’t tell anyone about my feelings to anyone, not even God.


I’m here to tell you to not follow in my footsteps. It’s really healthy to tell your friends and family how you feel about certain things, like when a conflict arises or when you encounter something that makes you angry or sad.


What’s even better is talking to God. 1 Peter 5:7 (NIV) says “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.”


It’s so easy to fall into the mindset that no one cares for you and no one will want to listen to what you have to say and how you feel about certain things. Throw that mindset away, because it’s wrong.


You are not alone. God put your family and friends around you so that you can talk things out with them. He wants you to be with the people around you, because God put them there. Your family and friends are there for you.


Most of all though, God is there for you. He cares for you, and He will always be there for you. He loves you so, so much, and He will always be there to listen to you.



37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page