top of page
  • Writer's pictureMolly McTernan

Author Interview: Candace Kade


 

I am honored to be interviewing the wonderful Candace Kade today! She is a YA author who grew up in China and you'll see that incorporated into her books. Now, she lives in America and enjoys hiking, writing, and drinking boba tea.


Her sci-fi novel Enhanced was published last year and let me tell you, it was so, so good (it even made my top ten reads of 2023)! The sequel to that book, Hybrid, is coming out in a mere few days and you can learn more about it here. And if you'd like to read my review of Enhanced, you can do that here.


No, on to the interview - I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!


 

Welcome to my blog, Candace! Firstly, I'd love to have you introduce yourself.


Hello there! I write YA adventure novels and my debut YA cyber punk novel, Enhanced, released with Enclave Publishing in 2023. Book two in the series, Hybrid, is releasing March 5th of this year. On a more personal note, I love traveling, games, and adventures of all sorts! I recently discovered k-dramas and have fallen in love with Crash Landing on You.


What first made you decide that you wanted to be an author?


I’ve always enjoyed writing. I think it was more of a matter of realizing I could be an author. As a teen, it never even occurred to me that one day I could write full length novels and get published. It wasn’t until I read Eragon by Christopher Paolini, that I realized you didn’t have to be grown up to be an author. After that, I started taking myself seriously as a writer and getting more disciplined about practicing my craft. It’s taken seventeen years from that initial realization to seeing my first book in print but it’s worth it!


Where do you think the idea for Hybrid sparked from?


Many places! For one, growing up in China definitely inspired the Asian elements. For another, working at a tech company for over six years and having friends who worked in AI, cyber security, coding etc., helped inform a lot of the futuristic aspects of my book. Also, learning about CRISPR gene editing definitely inspired the idea of a society with genetic enhancements.


What was the easiest part of the writing process for you?


World building. I love coming up with new worlds and fun plot twists. Also, writing that first draft of a novel! There’s something magical about seeing your story take shape for the first time.


What was the hardest part of the writing process for you?


Editing. Always editing. I loathe editing. Probably because it takes me so long. I can pump out a 50K rough draft in a month but then it takes me another eleven months to rewrite and refine the story.


Do you have any tips for fellow writers who might be in the same place?


Don’t give up! Getting published or self-publishing takes a long time. Find other serious writers who are on the same journey. You guys can help each other become better writers by critiquing manuscripts. Additionally, they can be an excellent source of encouragement for the days you feel like giving up.


Now, for a fun question: What are some of your favorite books?


Ahhh! This is always such a hard question because there are so many! I’ll just list a few of my favorite recent ones: Saints and Monsters by Ellen McGinty, Chaos Grid by Lyndsey Lewellen, Iron Rose by Abigail O’Bryan, and Suspended in the Stars by E.A. Hendryx.


Thank you so much for doing this interview! Where can my readers find you online?


They can find me online at candacekade.com where they can subscribe to my newsletter to find out more about my book and bookish giveaways as well as reading recommendations. Or they can follow me on Instagram at @candace_kade_author!

56 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Youtube
  • Goodreads logo
  • Spotify
  • Pinterest

©2022-2024 by Molly McTernan

bottom of page