top of page
  • Writer's pictureMolly McTernan

Are You Tarrying? (article + announcement)

Photo credit to Vladimir Vinogradov on Unsplash.


 

Have you ever had to wait for something? Have you ever felt like something you wanted was just about of grasp, constantly around the next bend?


I know that I have. In fact, I waited for over a year for something that is just now happening.


If you've followed me for a while, you've probably heard me mention my writing community, The Young Writer's Workshop, before. But what I don't talk about as much is their sister program, The Author Conservatory.

This is a college-alternative for writing and business, and during students' time there, they will have intensive mentoring, coaching, and editing done by award-winning authors, professional editors, and successful entrepreneurs. As someone who loves both writing and business, it sounded like my dream program.


However, choosing what college or college-level program you enroll in is not something to be done on a whim. And especially because this is a newer program with a decent sized price tag, my parents and I were very hesitant to officially claim my spot.


That being said, after a year of talking to students and instructors, having conversations and emailing with friends and family members (both those in writing fields and those who aren't!), and praying and trusting, we contacted my admissions advisor to finally say 'yes'.


And as of a few days ago, I logged into the Author Conservatory for the first time.


It feels surreal to finally be a student in this program that I've heard about and wanted to join for so long. It's a big step towards my future career, it's a big step in my life in general, and I plan to make the most of this next year and seek Him through it all.


But let's go back to my first question. Have you ever had to wait for something before? Not only do I know what that's like, I also know that the process is so hard. However, I've learned that there are different ways to wait. You can be anxious and frustrated (keep in mind it's okay to be frustrated at first, but we shouldn't dwell there), or you can choose to tarry and trust in what the Lord has planned for you.


Tarrying means to abide, to wait expectantly. Maybe what you want will happen - but maybe it won't. However, life is an ever-growing story, and there is something to be learned from each season, whether that's what we set out for or not.


So as I walk out of this season of waiting and tarrying and walk into my time at The Author Conservatory, I wanted to encourage you in your situation - whether that be a standstill, or a change like me. No want is too big or small for God, and He stands with open arms, waiting for you to hand Him your burdens and worries.


Are you tarrying?


48 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 Comments


mct911
7 days ago

Very nice thoughts about waiting.

I thought this was a good verse for what you wrote:

Isaiah 40:31 But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

I love the word "tarry." It is seldom used today. This is a nice verse about the coming of Jesus Christ: Hebrews 10:37 For yet a little while, and he that shall come will come, and will not tarry.

Like
Molly McTernan
Molly McTernan
6 days ago
Replying to

Yes, that verse fits this post perfectly! And the Hebrews one using the word 'tarry' stood out as well. Thank you!

Edited
Like

bella
Sep 07

Oh Molls, I love this so much. This is such a good reminder, especially for one who doesn't like waiting... 👀 (ahem.. me... 🤭) So excited and proud of you for trusting the Lord with this next journey!! 🤎

Like
Molly McTernan
Molly McTernan
Sep 09
Replying to

Thank you, Bella! (Hey, it's hard.) ❤️

Like
bottom of page